Marauders land 2 on All-TVC Ohio basketball team

Bryan Walters

March 20, 2014

The Meigs boys basketball team landed two players on the All-TVC Ohio squads, which was determined by coaches based on the final league standings for the 2014 campaign.

The Marauders — who finished tied for third with both Alexander and Nelsonville-York with a 4-6 TVC Ohio mark — were represented by senior forward Damon Jones and junior guard Isaiah English.

The Spartans landed two selections in sophomores Mason Chapman and Seth Richardson, while seniors Josh Fayette and Cannon Kilbarger were chosen on behalf of the Buckeyes.

Athens won the TVC Ohio with a perfect 10-0 mark, which allowed Jeff Skinner to be named the league’s coach of the year. Sophomore guard Ibi Watson was named the league’s player of the year and was one of three Bulldogs chosen to this year’s squad, joining juniors Joey Burrow and Ryan Luehrman.

Vinton County finished second overall with an 8-2 mark and landed two selections on the All-TVC Ohio team. Senior Alex Owings and sophomore Jordan Albright were chosen on behalf of the Vikings.

Sophomore Caleb Stanley was the lone choice for Wellston, which went winless in 10 league contests this past winter.