RV, Meigs combine for 5 on District 13 volleyball teams

Bryan Walters

November 8, 2013

River Valley landed two players and Meigs scored three spots on the 2013 District 13 Division III volleyball team, as voted on by the coaches within the respective district.

The Lady Marauders earned their first sectional title in over a decade and completed the campaign with an 8-14 overall mark. Senior Olivia Cremeans was selected to the second team, while junior Brook Andrus and freshman Devyn Oliver were chosen as honorable mention representatives.

The Lady Raiders — who finished the year with an 11-11 overall mark — had the only first team selection between the two programs in senior Kaci Bryant. Sophomore Leia Moore was also chosen to the honorable mention list in D-3.

Junior Madison Davis of Nelsonville-York was a first team choice after being named the Division III player of the year, while Tia Pettigrew of South Point was chosen as the senior all-star match representative. Ben Robey of NYHS was honored as the coach of the year, while Allen Perry of South Point and Carrie Doland of Fairland shared the D-13 Coaches Achievement Award.

Bryant was joined on the D-3 first team by Carrie Brock of Chesapeake, Kelsey Riley of Fairland, Lexie Washington of Ironton, Sarah Travis of Rock Hill, Ashton Cale of Federal Hocking, Jennah Adais of NYHS and Pettigrew of SPHS.

Besides Cremeans, second team selections to the 2013 Division III list included both Sydney Arnold and Carrie Nostrant of Alexander, Kaitlyn Murphy of Dawson Bryant, Mackenzie Riley of Fairland, Makayla Williams of Fed Hock, Hannah Carry of SPHS and Carissa Darnell of Wellston.

Joining Oliver, Andrus and Moore on the D-3 honorable mention squad were Brianna Owen of Belpre, Kelsey Carey of Chesapeake, Leslie Mulkey of Coal Grove, Maggie Thomas of Ironton, Merrill Melvin of Oak Hill, both Tiffany King and Emma Ousley of Wellston, and Brooke Breeze of NYHS.

Bryant and Cremeans will particpate in Sunday’s District 13 Senior All-Star Match, which will begin at 1:15 p.m. at the Lyne Center on the campus of the University of Rio Grande.